# Sharing Folders with Authentication

> How to share folders and manage folder-level permissions.

:::tip
Folders can be shared with multiple users.
:::

:::tip
**Tip:** Place your mouse pointer over the **(Shared)** tag to review who a file is shared with.
:::

:::tip
Sharing for folders containing large numbers of files (more than approx. 50) with multiple users can take some time. Complexity of automated sharing encryption increases as these two factors go up. For example, processing the share of 50 files with *one* user will take a quarter the time of sharing 50 files with *four* users. **Please allow approximately 1 second per contained file, per user, for sharing time.**
:::

## Standard sharing

1. Select the folder(s) and press **[Share]**

    ![](https://help.dekkosecure.com/media/collaboration-in-core-hubs/sharing-folders-with-authentication/Screenshot_2023-04-20_at_12.56.29_pm.png){width=908}

2. Type or paste the first email address or name of the user you are sharing with

Users who are already a member of the Hub will auto-complete. Press **[Enter]** on your key board to add the user to the shared list.

    ![](https://help.dekkosecure.com/media/collaboration-in-core-hubs/sharing-folders-with-authentication/Screenshot_2023-04-20_at_12.12.05_pm.png){width=528}

3. (Optional) If you are adding more that one user to the shared list, continue entering names or email addresses

    ![](https://help.dekkosecure.com/media/collaboration-in-core-hubs/sharing-files-with-authentication/Screenshot_2023-04-20_at_12.17.49_pm.png){width=528}

4. (Optional) If you add a user who is not a current member of the Hub, they will be marked with **New to this Hub**. If the user is already registered, they will be added to the Hub automatically. If they are not registered, they will be sent a registration invite automatically.

A user type must be set for new Hub members:

    ![](https://help.dekkosecure.com/media/collaboration-in-core-hubs/sharing-files-with-authentication/Screenshot_2023-04-20_at_12.19.56_pm.png){width=576}

    If the share window does not allow you to add users who aren’t already in the Hub, this means your DekkoSecure administrator has disabled the feature. You must send the user an invite and wait for them to register before sharing content with them.

5. Set access permissions for each user by using the permissions dropdown(s)

Carefully note the descriptions for each permission type.

    ![](https://help.dekkosecure.com/media/collaboration-in-core-hubs/sharing-folders-with-authentication/Screenshot_2025-06-18_at_09.16.53.png){width=2128}

6. (Optional) Set an expiry on the share. The files will become unavailable for recipients when the expiry is met (they will not be deleted).

7. (Optional) Set a note on the share. Notes are displayed in the **details** panel for each shared file. They are not attached to the file(s) or file metadata when they are downloaded from the platform.

8. Press **[Share]**. All shared files folders/files are marked with the **(Shared)** tag.

## Folder sharing permissions

Sharing folders (see [file sharing page](https://help.dekkosecure.com/collaboration-in-core-hubs/sharing-files-with-authentication) for file sharing permissions) can be controlled per-shared-user with the following permissions options:

### **Listing only**

Sharing files with *listing only* permission means the user can see the folder's contents (file names, sizes, and dates) but not read any of those files, so they cannot open, view, or download them.

---

### **View only**

Sharing folders with *view only* permission means the user can only view contained file(s) in-app (if [supported](https://help.dekkosecure.com/collaboration-in-core-hubs/content-views-and-content-display#viewable-file-formats)). Downloading, sharing management, versioning, renaming and deletion are disabled. **Note:** if the folder contains files that are not viewable, you may need to grant [*download permission*](https://help.dekkosecure.com/collaboration-in-core-hubs/sharing-files-with-authentication#download-only) for those files.

---

### **Download only**

Sharing folders with *download only* permission means the user can view the contained file(s) in-app (if [supported](https://help.dekkosecure.com/collaboration-in-core-hubs/content-views-and-content-display#viewable-file-formats)) and download. Sharing management, versioning, renaming and deletion are disabled.

---

### **Download + upload**

Sharing folders with *download + only* permission means the user can view contained file(s) in-app (if [supported](https://help.dekkosecure.com/collaboration-in-core-hubs/content-views-and-content-display#viewable-file-formats)), download, version files and upload to the folder. Sharing management, versioning, renaming and deletion are disabled.

---

### Editor

Granting folders with *Editor* means the user can view contained file(s) in-app (if [supported](https://help.dekkosecure.com/collaboration-in-core-hubs/content-views-and-content-display#viewable-file-formats)), edit (if [supported](https://help.dekkosecure.com/collaboration-in-core-hubs/live-document-collaboration)), upload new versions of files and upload files to the folder.

---

### Manager

Granting folders with *Manager* means the user can view  in-app (if [supported](https://help.dekkosecure.com/collaboration-in-core-hubs/content-views-and-content-display#viewable-file-formats)), download, access sharing management, request signatures, and rename for all contained files.

---

### **Full permissions**

Granting folders with *full permissions* means the user can view the contained file(s) in-app (if [supported](https://help.dekkosecure.com/collaboration-in-core-hubs/content-views-and-content-display#viewable-file-formats)), edit contained file(s) (if [supported](https://help.dekkosecure.com/collaboration-in-core-hubs/live-document-collaboration)), download, version files and upload to the folder, access sharing management, rename and delete. This permission should be considered ‘co-ownership’.

:::tip
Folder-level permissions are separate to [Hub roles](https://help.dekkosecure.com/tenancy-management/tenancy-and-hub-roles). For example, an *External* user in a Hub can be granted *Full permissions*, a *Team member* user can be limited to *View only*, etc.
:::

The **Events** column will show when recipients have downloaded or viewed your share files:

![](https://help.dekkosecure.com/media/collaboration-in-core-hubs/sharing-files-with-authentication/Screenshot_2024-05-10_at_5.15.34_pm.png){width=768}

Place your cursor over the download/view icon to see which shared users have accessed them. If the events column is empty, your file has not viewed or downloaded.

## Mass sharing

The sharing menu also allows the selection of sharing recipients from the contact list in the selected Hub. You can select users individually, select all using the **All users** check box, or do an **All users** selection and then uncheck individuals.

All recipients in a mass share have the same permission. To individualise permissions, share the content and then switch to the regular share tab - permissions can be updated on a per-user basis.

![](https://help.dekkosecure.com/media/collaboration-in-core-hubs/sharing-files-with-authentication/Screenshot_2024-05-03_at_2.11.58_pm.png){width=558}

## Access alerts

View and download events will be displayed in the **events** column for each sharing recipient that access your shared content:

![](https://help.dekkosecure.com/media/collaboration-in-core-hubs/sharing-files-with-authentication/Screenshot_2024-07-16_at_12.19.46_PM.png){width=864}

![](https://help.dekkosecure.com/media/collaboration-in-core-hubs/sharing-files-with-authentication/Screenshot_2024-07-16_at_12.19.09_PM.png){width=864}

## Copy and send a link to folders

In the DekkoCORE web app, you can copy the URL from the browser address bar while viewing a file or folder, then send that URL to another user. Note that the recipient can only access the link if the file or folder has already been shared with them (see above). If the content has not been explicitly shared with the recipient, they will receive an "Access Denied" message.
