# Core Hubs: Create and Manage Hubs

> How to create, configure, manage, and delete Core Hub workspaces.

## Creating Core Hubs

Core Hubs are created by opening the Hub navigation dropdown at the top of the interface and selecting **Create a new Core Hub**. If the **Create a new Core Hub** button is disabled, this means that you are restricted from hub creation via a your organisation’s [**tenancy policies**](https://help.dekkosecure.com/tenancy-management/tenancy-policies).

![](https://help.dekkosecure.com/media/tenancy-management/core-hubs-create-and-manage-hubs/Screenshot_2023-04-21_at_8.04.32_am.png){width=300}

![](https://help.dekkosecure.com/media/tenancy-management/core-hubs-create-and-manage-hubs/Screenshot_2024-03-18_at_10.52.08_am.png){width=501}

Users who are a member of multiple Tenancies are able to allocate the Hub to one those Tenancies. It is not possible to create a Core Hub that is not assigned to a Tenancy. In the above example **Project Bluebook** is being assigned to the **NZ2** Tenancy.

If you need to copy members (or a subset of members) from another Hub, tick the **import from** option. Choose a Core Hub, and a full listing of the users in that Hub will appear for copying to the new one. Users are grouped by their domain. *Team member* users are presented in **bold**; all others are *External*.

Hubs can also be created from within the Tenancy Management interface:

![](https://help.dekkosecure.com/media/tenancy-management/core-hubs-create-and-manage-hubs/Screenshot_2026-03-06_at_9.17.43_pm.png){width=936}

:::tip
If you’re a Manager of multiple Tenancies, make sure you have the right one selected! The Hub creation window will also display the selected Tenancy.
:::

## Hub policies

Hub policies are an (optionally) stricter set of rules that are independent of Tenancy policies. For example, if a Tenancy disables Mail for all Hubs, a Hub can be set to individually also disable Chat or Meetings functionality. Hub policies are set at the time of Hub creation and updated via the Hub settings menu - press **settings**, select the **Hub settings** tab, select the Hub from the dropdown, then choose the **branding** menu. Update the policy and then press **save**.

:::tip
You must be a Hub administrator to update Hub policies.
:::

![](https://help.dekkosecure.com/media/tenancy-management/core-hubs-create-and-manage-hubs/Screenshot_2024-12-11_at_6.48.28_pm.png){width=1048}

### Feature availability

Mail, Chat and Meetings functionality can be disabled so that they are hidden from the DekkoSecure application interface when the Hub is selected. This will prevent the features use such that no Mail or Chat content can be originated from the Hub. File sharing, Document editing and Approvals functionality cannot be disabled via Hub policies.

### Restrict external upload

To restrict users with the *External* member type from uploading files at the root of the Hub (i.e., outside of folders shard with them), enable the policy. **Note** – your externals must be given *upload + download* permission on folders shared with them so that they can upload files.

## Manage users

### Core Hub administrator

Press **Settings** in the left navigation bar (1), check the **Hub settings** tab is selected (2), select the Core Hub from the dropdown (3) and then select the **User management** tab (4):

![](https://help.dekkosecure.com/media/tenancy-management/core-hubs-create-and-manage-hubs/Screenshot_2024-01-10_at_3.35.35_pm.png){width=847}

If you can’t see the **User management** tab, this means you are not an administrator of the selected Hub. in the **Settings** menu.

:::warning
Removing a user from a Hub will remove their content (files, messages, etc.) unless it is shared with another Hub member with *full permissions* granted.
:::

### Tenancy Manager

Tenant admins can manage users’ Hub memberships and roles from a single menu in the Tenancy Manager, with the ability to add a user to a Hub even if the Tenant admin is not a member of said Hub. To access the membership control menu, open the [⋯] button in the user’s entry on the user management page, then **manage Hub memberships**:

![](https://help.dekkosecure.com/media/tenancy-management/core-hubs-create-and-manage-hubs/Screenshot_2026-08-25_at_4.27.36_pm.png){width=1162}

### Delete a Hub

Hub Admins and Tenancy Managers can delete a Hub. Deleting a Hub permanently removes all data stored within it, including files, shares, and member associations. This action cannot be undone.

:::warning
Deleting a Hub permanently deletes all data within it. Make sure any files you need have been downloaded or moved to another Hub before proceeding.
:::

**How to delete a Hub (Hub admin)**

1. Click **Settings** in the left navigation panel.
2. Select **Hub Settings.**
3. In the dropdown select the Hub you want to delete.
4. In the bottom of the page and click **Delete Hub.**
5. To the right select **Delete Hub.**
6. In the pop-up type the Hub name to verify the Hub you wish to delete.
7. Click **Ok** to confirm deletion.

![](https://help.dekkosecure.com/media/tenancy-management/core-hubs-create-and-manage-hubs/Screenshot_2026-04-08_at_10.10.44_am.png){width=704}

**How to delete a Hub (Tenancy Manager)**

1. Click **Tenancy Manager** interface in the profile dropdown.
2. Select the **Hubs** tab.
3. Locate the Hub you want to delete.
4. Click on the corresponding bin icon.
5. In the pop-up type the Hub name to verify the Hub you wish to delete.
6. Click **Ok** to confirm deletion.

![](https://help.dekkosecure.com/media/tenancy-management/core-hubs-create-and-manage-hubs/Screenshot_2026-08-25_at_4.28.47_pm.png){width=1162}
